Jérôme Vuilleumier, Finalta Sàrl

Finalta

"Business Monitor allows us to identify potential corporate investors when a business owner wants to retire."
Managing Partner, Finalta Sàrl

ABOUT FINALTA SARL

Finalta provides advice and solutions to enterprises for their financial management. This includes a comprehensive range of services for SMEs, such as setting up business structure, account management, part time financial management and transfer projects.

  • What are the real challenges during the SME transfer process?

    JV : Once the owner of a small or medium-sized enterprise (SME) has decided to look for a buyer, often because of retirement or to prepare for a changeover, many problems arise. Firstly, it’s rarely possible to put the business on the market publically. In reality, it’s important to keep the process confidential to avoid any stress for staff, clients and other stakeholders. Secondly, in the majority of cases, the owner will experience strong emotions. Being intimately familiar with the market and the competition, the owner often finds it difficult to imagine the business in new hands. Lastly, the owner is letting go of their life’s work, and hopes that the fruit of all that effort continues into the future.

    So when identifying potential buyers, it’s important that it’s done in a targeted and discrete manner, while at the same time being systematic.

  • How does Business Monitor help you in this task?

    JV : Business Monitor helps us with several aspects of this process. The keyword search gives us a broader search compared to other systems which are mainly based on “NOGA” codes (Swiss General classification of economic activities). Effectively, this enables us to identify businesses on the same value chain of the client, by targeting the search to a specific domain. Furthermore, this system lets us search businesses based in German speaking Switzerland while using French search terms. This is a very useful option for us, because the acquisition of SMEs in French-speaking Switzerland by businesses from across the Sarine often makes a lot of sense.

    Finally, being able to expand the search beyond the scope familiar to the owner helps us alleviate the emotional issues which are often at the root of transfer problems. Discussions with the client become much more rational.

  • Would you recommend Business Monitor?

    JV : Yes, certainly. The transfer of businesses is a major issue in Switzerland as SMEs provide around two thirds of jobs. By helping them through the changeover, we are helping to keep jobs, and I think that a tool like Business Monitor brings real added value and quickly becomes indispensable.

Jérôme Vuilleumier, Finalta Sàrl

Finalta Sàrl

"Business Monitor nous permet d’identifier des repreneurs potentiels dans le cadre de transmissions de PME."

Managing Partner, Finalta Sàrl

A PROPOS DE FINALTA SARL

Finalta fournit des conseils et des solutions aux entreprises en matière de gestion financière. Ces prestations incluent notamment une gamme complète de services à l’attention de PME, tels que la mise en place de structure, la gestion comptable, la direction financière à temps partiel et les projets de transmission.

  • Quels sont les réels défis lors de la transmission de PME?

    JV : Lorsqu’un propriétaire d’une petite ou moyenne entreprise (PME) décide de chercher un repreneur, souvent dans un cas de départ à la retraite ou de préparation à la succession, plusieurs problèmes se posent. Premièrement, l’entreprise ne peut que très rarement être mise sur le marché de manière publique. En effet, il est important de garder ce processus confidentiel pour éviter tout stress sur le personnel, les clients et autres parties prenantes. Deuxièmement, dans la plupart des cas, de fortes émotions surgissent chez le propriétaire. Ce dernier connait très bien son marché et ses concurrents, et a souvent des difficultés à concevoir son entreprise en d’autres mains. Finalement, c’est le travail de tout une vie qui doit être remis, le propriétaire désire donc que le fruit de ses efforts s’inscrive dans la continuité.

    Il est donc important de pouvoir identifier des repreneurs potentiels de manière très ciblée et discrète, mais également de manière systématique.

  • Comment Business Monitor vous aide dans cette tâche?

    JV : Business Monitor nous aide sur différents aspects. La recherche par mots-clés nous permet d’élargir notre champ de recherche par rapport à d’autres systèmes basés principalement sur des codes industriels NOGA. En effet, ceci nous permet d’identifier des entreprises présentes dans la chaine de valeur de notre client, en ciblant la recherche sur son domaine spécifique. De plus, ce système nous permet de faire des recherches en français sur des entreprises basées en suisse alémanique. Cette option est très utile pour nous, car la reprise de PME romandes par des entreprises d’outre Sarine fait souvent beaucoup de sens.

    Enfin, pouvoir élargir le champ de recherche au-delà du périmètre connu du propriétaire nous aide à atténuer les aspects émotionnels qui sont souvent à la base des problèmes de transmission. Les discussions avec notre client deviennent beaucoup plus rationnelles.

  • Recommanderiez-vous Business Monitor?

    JV : Oui, bien sûr. La transmission d’entreprises est un enjeu majeur en Suisse car les PME représentent environ deux tiers des emplois. En les aidant lors de la succession, nous aidons à préserver les emplois, et je pense qu’un outil tel que Business Monitor apporte une vraie valeur ajoutée et deviendra vite indispensable.