Swiss company leadership & the gender divide (2008-2018)

A COMPREHENSIVE ANALYSIS OF 900,000 SWISS COMPANIES
March 2018

Author: Florent Schlaeppi
Co-authors: Jacques Berent, Alexander Skumiewski
Supported by:
source: rts.ch/info

Data and new technologies offer a new perspective on the Swiss gender imbalance

Most readers will be familiar with the so-called “glass ceiling effect”, the metaphor describing the fact that, although women are well represented across the general workforce, several barriers hinder women’s progression to the highest company positions. In our study, the evidence for a Swiss “glass ceiling” is particularly glaring in Limited companies – where only one in six company Directors are women, and less than one in eleven Presidents of the Board are women.

Key figures

Key figures

Strong gender imbalances in the Board of Directors for Swiss Limited (Ltd) companies

In 2018 the composition of the Board of Directors is not balanced between genders; only 16.8% of them are women. Additionally, within the Board, the highest responsibility role in the hierarchy (the President) is even less likely to be held by a woman (only 8.9% of Board Presidents are women).

At the executive level (CEO, directors, authorized signatories), more leadership roles are held by women (25.5%) than is the case on the Board of Directors, but the same phenomenon appears whereby the highest roles are held by just 15.8% women, and lower responsibility roles are more commonly offered to women (27.5%).

16.8% of Board of Directors seats are held by women in Ltd companies

Management composition of the 216,000 Limited (Ltd) companies active in Switzerland as of January 2018

Management composition

Business-Monitor, a comprehensive dataset

Business-Monitor collects data from multiple sources, including the Federal and the 26 Cantonal commerce registries. The data collected are then cleaned, normalized, and enriched using data acquisition techniques developed during the past 5 years. In total, over 10 different sources are used to build company profiles, on which research and analysis is conducted.

The use of Artificial Intelligence allows automated classification of the companies and the extraction of unique information from non-structured data, such as newsfeeds, social networks, and the companies’ own websites.

All companies registered in Switzerland are therefore considered in this analysis, including Limited (Ltd) companies, Limited Liability Companies (LLC), Sole Proprietorships (also known as Sole Traders), Associations and Foundations. In total, and considering the companies that were created or cancelled during the last decade, over 900,000 companies are analysed. For every single one of them, the database includes all legal representatives, leading to a total of over 910,000 people holding close to 1,400,000 decision-maker roles. These people’s gender is determined using a classification tool reaching a 99.9% accuracy rate.

This study is also based on data spanning from 2008 to 2018, which offers the possibility to analyse trends over the past 10 years. As such, and to the best of our knowledge, the dataset at our disposal is the most extensive ever used in the study of gender equality at the decision-making level in Switzerland.

Not all industries are equally represented by women

A gap between the total number of women workers and the proportion of decision-making roles held by women is observed across all industries (see figure 13). This is the case even in sectors where women are better represented than men (e.g. in Health services, Hotels and Restaurants, Public and education services, etc.). Indeed, in such sectors, women are still underrepresented in decision-making roles compared to their male counterparts. This indicates that glass ceilings prevail even in typically “feminine” sectors.

Swiss companies gender balance between total works and decision makers, split by industries, 2017 Q3

Gender balance

Many questions will remain regarding the reasons for which we are so slow in moving towards gender equality in Switzerland. The findings of our report should be just the beginning of a much broader conversation.

ABOUT PWC

At PwC, our purpose is to build trust in society and solve important problems. We’re a network of firms in 158 countries with more than 236,000 people who are committed to delivering quality in assurance, advisory, tax & legal and Digital Services.

PwC Switzerland supports clients in the area of Diversity & Inclusion (D&I) in many ways: awareness training, business maturity assessments, inclusive HR policy design, strategy consulting and more.

PwC Switzerland also offers organisations the opportunity to be certified by the independent EQUAL-SALARY Foundation, which is a great way to demonstrate (internally and externally) that the organization provides equal pay and working conditions for women and men.

More information: www.pwc.ch/en/services/people-organisation/equal-salary-certification.html.

PricewaterhouseCoopers

Schweizer Unternehmensführung und die Geschlechterungleichheit (2008-2018)

EINE UMFASSENDE ANALYSE VON 900.000 SCHWEIZER UNTERNEHMEN
März 2018

Autor: Florent Schlaeppi
Co-Autoren: Jacques Berent, Alexander Skumiewski
Unterstützen durch:
source: rts.ch/info

Daten und neue Technologien bieten eine neue Perspektive auf die Geschlechtertrennung in der Schweiz

Die meisten Leser werden mit der sogenannten “gläsernen Decke” vertraut sein. Diese Metapher beschreibt die Tatsache, dass, obwohl Frauen in der gesamten Belegschaft gut vertreten sind, mehrere Hindernisse den Aufstieg von Frauen in die höchsten Unternehmenspositionen behindern. In unserer Studie sind die Beweise für eine Schweizer “gläserne Decke” besonders in Aktiengesellschaften - wo nur jeder sechste Unternehmensdirektor eine Frau ist und weniger als eine von elf Präsidenten des Verwaltungsrats eine Frau ist.

Kennzahlen

Key figures

Starke Ungleichgewichte im Verwaltungsrat der Schweizer Aktiengesellschaften (AG)

Wie in Abbildung dargestellt, hat ein Verwaltungsrats im Jahr 2018 nur 16,8% Frauen. Darüber hinaus wird innerhalb des Vorstands die höchste Verantwortungsrolle in der Hierarchie (der Präsident) noch seltener von einer Frau eingenommen (nur 8,9% der Präsidenten sind Frauen).

Verglichen mit dem Verwaltungsrat gibt es auf Führungsebene (CEO, Direktoren, Prokuristen) mehr Frauen (25,5%) in Führungspositionen. Allerdings sind es in höheren Positionen nur 15,8% Frauen, während weniger verantwortungsvollen Positionen häufiger Frauen angeboten werden (27,5%).

16.8% der Frauen im Verwaltungsrat von Schweizer Aktiengesellschaften

Zusammensetzung der Geschäftsleitung der 216.000 in der Schweiz tätigen Aktiengesellschaften (Januar 2018)

Management composition

Business-Monitor, ein umfassender Datensatz

Business-Monitor sammelt Daten aus verschiedenen Quellen, darunter das Bundes- und die 26 kantonalen Handelsregister. Die gesammelten Daten werden dann gereinigt, normalisiert und angereichert mit Datenerfassungstechniken, die in den letzten 5 Jahren entwickelt wurden. Insgesamt werden über 10 verschiedene Quellen genutzt, um Unternehmensprofile zu erstellen, die wir dann erforschen und analysieren können.

Der Einsatz von künstlicher Intelligenz ermöglicht die automatisierte Klassifizierung der Unternehmen und die Extraktion einzigartiger Informationen aus nicht strukturierten Daten wie Neuigkeiten, sozialen Netzwerken und den eigenen Webseiten der Unternehmen.

Alle in der Schweiz registrierten Unternehmen werden daher in dieser Analyse berücksichtigt, einschließlich Aktiengesellschaften, Gesellschaften mit beschränkter Haftung (GmbH), Einzelunternehmen, Verbände und Stiftungen. Unter Berücksichtigung der Unternehmen, die in den letzten zehn Jahren gegründet oder gestrichen wurden, werden insgesamt mehr als 900.000 Unternehmen analysiert. Die Datenbank umfasst für jeden Einzelnen alle gesetzlichen Vertreter, was zu einer Gesamtzahl von über 910.000 Personen mit fast 1.400.000 Entscheiderrollen führt. Das Geschlecht dieser Personen wird mithilfe eines Klassifikations-Tools ermittelt, das eine Genauigkeit von 99,9% erreicht.

Diese Studie basiert ebenfalls auf Daten von 2008 bis 2018, die die Möglichkeit bieten, Trends der letzten 10 Jahre zu analysieren. Der uns zur Verfügung stehende Datensatz ist somit nach unserer Kenntnis der umfangreichste, der jemals in der Schweiz in Bezug auf die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter auf Entscheidungsebene verwendet wurde.

Nicht alle Branchen sind gleichberechtigt durch Frauen vertreten

Ein Unterschied zwischen der Gesamtzahl der weiblichen Arbeitskräfte und dem Anteil der Frauen an den Entscheidungspositionen ist branchenübergreifend zu beobachten (siehe Abbildung 13). Dies gilt auch für Sektoren, in denen Frauen stärker vertreten sind als Männer (z.B. im Gesundheitswesen, im Gastgewerbe, im öffentlichen Dienst und im Bildungswesen usw.). Tatsächlich sind Frauen in diesen Sektoren in Entscheidungspositionen im Vergleich zu ihren männlichen Kollegen immer noch unterrepräsentiert. Dies deutet darauf hin, dass Glasdecken auch in typisch “femininen” Bereichen vorherrschen.

Geschlechtergleichgewicht nach Branchen, für alle Beschäftigten und für Führungspositionen (2017 Q3)

Gender balance

Die Frage, wieso wir in der Schweiz in Fragen Gleichstellung von Mann und Frau so langsam sind, bleibt offen. Die Ergebnisse unserer Studie soll ein Startpunkt für die Vertiefung der Debatte sein.

ÜBER PWC

Der Zweck von PwC ist es, das Vertrauen in der Gesellschaft weiter auszubauen und wichtige Probleme zu lösen. Wir sind ein Netzwerk von Mitgliedsfirmen in 158 Ländern mit über 236’000 Mitarbeitern. Diese setzen sich dafür ein, mit Dienstleistungen in den Bereichen Wirtschaftsprüfung, Rechts und Steuerberatung, Wirtschaftsberatung sowie Digital Services einen Mehrwert für die Wirtschaft und insbesondere für die Unternehmen zu bieten.

PwC Schweiz unterstützt Kunden im Bereich Diversity & Inclusion in vielfacher Hinsicht: In der Durchführung von Sensibilisierungskampagnen, D&I Maturitätsanalysen, integrativer Gestaltung der HR-Politik und D&I Strategieberatung.

PwC Schweiz bietet ihren Kunden ausserdem von der unabhängigen EQUAL-SALARY Stiftung zertifiziert zu werden, womit Unternehmen intern und extern einen gleichberechtigen Arbeitsplatz nachweisen können.

Mehr Informationen: www.pwc.ch/en/services/people-organisation/equal-salary-certification.html.

PricewaterhouseCoopers