Swiss company leadership & the gender divide (2008-2018)

A COMPREHENSIVE ANALYSIS OF 900,000 SWISS COMPANIES
March 2018

Author: Florent Schlaeppi
Co-authors: Jacques Berent, Alexander Skumiewski
Supported by:
source: rts.ch/info

Data and new technologies offer a new perspective on the Swiss gender imbalance

Most readers will be familiar with the so-called “glass ceiling effect”, the metaphor describing the fact that, although women are well represented across the general workforce, several barriers hinder women’s progression to the highest company positions. In our study, the evidence for a Swiss “glass ceiling” is particularly glaring in Limited companies – where only one in six company Directors are women, and less than one in eleven Presidents of the Board are women.

Key figures

Key figures

Strong gender imbalances in the Board of Directors for Swiss Limited (Ltd) companies

In 2018 the composition of the Board of Directors is not balanced between genders; only 16.8% of them are women. Additionally, within the Board, the highest responsibility role in the hierarchy (the President) is even less likely to be held by a woman (only 8.9% of Board Presidents are women).

At the executive level (CEO, directors, authorized signatories), more leadership roles are held by women (25.5%) than is the case on the Board of Directors, but the same phenomenon appears whereby the highest roles are held by just 15.8% women, and lower responsibility roles are more commonly offered to women (27.5%).

16.8% of Board of Directors seats are held by women in Ltd companies

Management composition of the 216,000 Limited (Ltd) companies active in Switzerland as of January 2018

Management composition

Business-Monitor, a comprehensive dataset

Business-Monitor collects data from multiple sources, including the Federal and the 26 Cantonal commerce registries. The data collected are then cleaned, normalized, and enriched using data acquisition techniques developed during the past 5 years. In total, over 10 different sources are used to build company profiles, on which research and analysis is conducted.

The use of Artificial Intelligence allows automated classification of the companies and the extraction of unique information from non-structured data, such as newsfeeds, social networks, and the companies’ own websites.

All companies registered in Switzerland are therefore considered in this analysis, including Limited (Ltd) companies, Limited Liability Companies (LLC), Sole Proprietorships (also known as Sole Traders), Associations and Foundations. In total, and considering the companies that were created or cancelled during the last decade, over 900,000 companies are analysed. For every single one of them, the database includes all legal representatives, leading to a total of over 910,000 people holding close to 1,400,000 decision-maker roles. These people’s gender is determined using a classification tool reaching a 99.9% accuracy rate.

This study is also based on data spanning from 2008 to 2018, which offers the possibility to analyse trends over the past 10 years. As such, and to the best of our knowledge, the dataset at our disposal is the most extensive ever used in the study of gender equality at the decision-making level in Switzerland.

Not all industries are equally represented by women

A gap between the total number of women workers and the proportion of decision-making roles held by women is observed across all industries (see figure 13). This is the case even in sectors where women are better represented than men (e.g. in Health services, Hotels and Restaurants, Public and education services, etc.). Indeed, in such sectors, women are still underrepresented in decision-making roles compared to their male counterparts. This indicates that glass ceilings prevail even in typically “feminine” sectors.

Swiss companies gender balance between total works and decision makers, split by industries, 2017 Q3

Gender balance

Many questions will remain regarding the reasons for which we are so slow in moving towards gender equality in Switzerland. The findings of our report should be just the beginning of a much broader conversation.

ABOUT PWC

At PwC, our purpose is to build trust in society and solve important problems. We’re a network of firms in 158 countries with more than 236,000 people who are committed to delivering quality in assurance, advisory, tax & legal and Digital Services.

PwC Switzerland supports clients in the area of Diversity & Inclusion (D&I) in many ways: awareness training, business maturity assessments, inclusive HR policy design, strategy consulting and more.

PwC Switzerland also offers organisations the opportunity to be certified by the independent EQUAL-SALARY Foundation, which is a great way to demonstrate (internally and externally) that the organization provides equal pay and working conditions for women and men.

More information: www.pwc.ch/en/services/people-organisation/equal-salary-certification.html.

PricewaterhouseCoopers

Répartition hommes-femmes au sein de la direction des entreprises en Suisse (2008-2018)

UNE ANALYSE COMPLÈTE DE 900‘000 ENTREPRISES SUISSES
Mars 2018

Auteur: Florent Schlaeppi
Co-auteurs: Jacques Berent, Alexander Skumiewski
Sountenu par:
source: rts.ch/info

Des données et de nouvelles technologies pour offrir une nouvelle perspective sur l’égalité des genres en Suisse

La plupart des lecteurs sont familiers avec ce qu'on appelle « l'effet du plafond de verre », cette métaphore décrivant le fait que, bien que les femmes soient bien représentées dans l'ensemble de la population active, plusieurs obstacles empêchent les femmes d'accéder aux postes les plus élevés au sein de l'entreprise. Dans notre étude, la preuve d'un « plafond de verre » suisse est particulièrement flagrante dans les sociétés anonymes –où seulement un dirigeant sur six est une femme et moins d'un président de conseil sur onze est une femme.

Chiffres-clés

Key figures

Fort déséquilibre entre les genres au sein des Conseils d'administration des sociétés anonymes suisses

En 2018, la composition des Conseils d'administration n'est pas équilibrée entre les genres. Les femmes ne sont représentées qu’à hauteur de 16,8 %. De plus, au sein du Conseil d'administration, le niveau de responsabilité le plus élevé, exercé par le Président, est encore moins susceptible d'être occupé par une femme (seulement 8,9% des Présidents du Conseil d'administration sont des femmes).

Au niveau de la Direction (PDG, directeurs, signataires autorisés), les femmes occupent davantage de postes directionnels (25,5%) qu’au sein des Conseils d'administration. Toutefois, le même phénomène semble se produire : les postes les plus élevés hiérarchiquement sont occupés par seulement 15,8 % de femmes, alors que les postes à plus faibles responsabilité le sont à 27,5%.

16.8% de femmes au sein des Conseils d’administration de sociétés anonymes suisses

Composition de la Direction des 216.000 sociétés anonymes actives en Suisse (Janvier 2018)

Management composition

Business-Monitor, un jeu de données complet

Business-Monitor recueille des données auprès de multiples sources, dont le registre fédéral et les 26 registres du commerce cantonaux. Les données recueillies sont ensuite nettoyées, normalisées et enrichies à l'aide de techniques d'acquisition de données mises au point au cours des cinq dernières années. Au total, plus de 10 sources différentes sont utilisées pour établir un profil de chaque entreprise, ce qui nous permet ensuite de conduire des recherches et des analyses statistiques.

L'utilisation de l'intelligence artificielle permet la classification automatisée des entreprises et l'extraction d'informations uniques à partir de données non-structurées, telles que les flux d'informations, les réseaux sociaux, et les sites web des entreprises.

Toutes les sociétés immatriculées en Suisse sont donc prises en compte dans cette analyse, y compris les sociétés anonymes, les sociétés à responsabilité limitée, les entreprises individuelles (également appelées sociétés individuelles ou travailleurs indépendants), les associations et les fondations. Au total, et compte tenu des sociétés créées ou annulées au cours de la dernière décennie, plus de 900’000 sociétés sont analysées. Pour chacune d'entre elles, la base de données inclut l'ensemble des représentants légaux, ce qui porte à plus de 910’000 le nombre de personnes occupant près de 1’400’000 postes à responsabilité. Le genre de ces personnes est déterminé à l'aide d'un outil de classification atteignant un taux de précision de 99,9 %.

Cette étude s'appuie également sur des données s’étendant de 2008 à 2018, ce qui offre la possibilité d'analyser les tendances sur les dix dernières années. A ce titre, et à notre connaissance, l'ensemble de données dont nous disposons est le plus complet jamais utilisé dans l'étude de l'égalité de genre au niveau décisionnel en Suisse.

Les femmes ne sont pas représentées égalitairement dans toutes les industries

Un écart entre le nombre total de travailleuses et la proportion des postes décisionnels occupés par les femmes est observé dans toutes les industries (voir figure 13). C'est également le cas dans les secteurs où les femmes sont majoritaires par rapport aux hommes (services de santé, hôtels et restaurants, services publics et d'éducation, etc.). En effet, dans ces secteurs, les femmes sont encore sous-représentées dans les postes décisionnels par rapport à leurs homologues masculins. Cela indique que les plafonds de verre prédominent même dans les secteurs typiquement “féminins”.

Répartition des genres par branche d'activité des entreprises suisses: comparaison entre travailleurs et dirigeants (2017 Q3)

Gender balance

De nombreuses questions subsisteront quant aux raisons pour lesquelles la progression vers l’égalité des genres reste si lente en Suisse. Les conclusions de notre rapport ne devraient être que le début d'une conversation beaucoup plus large.

A PROPOS DE PWC

Le but de PwC est de développer la confiance dans la société et de résoudre des problèmes importants. PwC est un réseau d’entreprises situées dans 158 pays et comptant plus de 236 000 collaborateurs qui s’engagent à délivrer des services d’audit, de conseil juridique et fiscal, ainsi qu’un conseil économique afin d’offrir une plus-value.

PwC Suisse soutient ses clients dans le domaine de la diversité et de l'inclusion (D&I), et ce de plusieurs manières : programmes de sensibilisation, évaluations de la maturité des entreprises, conception de politiques RH inclusives, et conseil en stratégie.

PwC Suisse offre également à ses clients la possibilité d’être certifiées par la Fondation indépendante « Equal-Salary », ce qui constitue pour une manière de démontrer à l’interne comme à l’externe qu'ils offrent des conditions de travail égalitaires.

Plus d'informations: www.pwc.ch/en/services/people-organisation/equal-salary-certification.html.

PricewaterhouseCoopers